8th Annual Legislative Pet Food Drive

The 8th Annual Legislative Pet Food Drive 

February 1st through April 30th

The 8th Annual Legislative Pet Food Drive brings together all levels of state and local elected officials in an attempt to gather much needed pet food donations for struggling Nassau and Suffolk County families.

Did you know Long Island Cares has a PET PANTRY?


Long Island Cares started Baxter’s Pet Pantry in 2009 and has since distributed over one million pounds of pet food, all of which has been donated through pet food drives, like this one, and corporate donations. Want to know more? 



Most Needed Pet Foods

  • 5 or 10 pounds bags of dog and cat food (larger bags always accepted)
  • Canned dog and cat food
  • Kitty litter
  • Treats
  • NEW Toys
  • Food for ALL PETS – included but not limited to reptiles, fish, ferrets, and hamsters!

All pet food must be unopened and in its original packaging. No opened bags, ripped bags, or loose pet food will be accepted. We apologize in advance for this inconvenience. 

Elected Officials please complete the below registration form to sign up as a participant. All members of the community, please contact your local officials today to request they participate!

Our Current Participants

New York State Senate
Senator Phil Boyle
Senator John Brooks
Senator John Flanagan
Senator Monica Martinez

New York State Assembly 
Assemblyman Anthony D’Urso
Assemblyman Joseph P. DeStefano
Assemblyman Mike LiPetri
Assemblyman David G. McDonough
Assemblyman John Mikulin
Assemblywoman Melissa “Missy” Miller
Assemblyman Ed Ra
Assemblyman Douglas Smith
Assemblyman Steve Stern
Assemblyman Fred W. Thiele, Jr.

Nassau County Legislators
Nassay County Legislature Presiding Officer Richard Nicolello
Deputy Presiding Officer Howard Kopel
Alternate Deputy Presiding Officer Denise Ford
Legislator Ellen Birnbaum
Legislator Arnold Drucker
Legislator C. William Gaylor III
Legislator Vincent Muscarella
Legislator James Kennedy
Legislator Thomas McKevitt
Legislator Laura Schaefer
Legislator John Ferretti
Legislator Rose Marie Walker
Legislator Steven Rhoads

Nassau County Executive
Laura Curran

Suffolk County Executive
Steven Bellone

Suffolk County Legislators
Suffolk County Legislature Presiding Officer DuWayne Gregory
Legislator Sarah Anker
Legislator Susan Berland
Legislator Rob Calarco
Legislator Tom Donnelly
Legislator Bridget Fleming
Legislator Steven J. Flotteron
Legislator Kara Hahn
Legislator Bill Lindsay III
Legislator Kevin McCaffrey
Legislator Rudy Sunderman
Legislator Robert Trotta

Town Officials
Islip Town Supervisor Angie Carpenter
Mayor Michael McGinty (Town Hall, Village of Island Park)

Additional Drive Sponsors
Babylon Public Library
Bay Shore-Brightwaters Public Library
Bethpage Public Library
Community Chest of Port Washington
East Meadow Public Library
Farmingdale Public Library
Girl Scouts of Suffolk County Service Unit 48
Great Neck Library
Great Neck Library – Lakeville Branch
Great Neck Library – Parkville Branch
Great Neck Library – Station Branch
Great Neck Social Center
Floral Park Library
Floral Park Village Hall
Herricks Community Center
Island Park Public Library
Island Trees Public Library
Islip Animal Shelter
Last Hope Animal Rescue
Lawrence Middle School
Levittown Public Library
Long Beach Public Library
Manhasset Public Library
Massapequa Public Library – Bar Harbour Building
Massapequa Public Library – Central Avenue Building
North Babylon Public Library
North Merrick Public Library
Oceanside Library
Peace, Love, and Joy Club of South Side High School
Peninsula Public Library
Pet Supplies Plus (Oceanside)
Petco (West Babylon)
Petco (Levittown)
PetSmart (West Babylon)
PetSmart (Oceanside)
Plainedge Public Library
Rob Becerra and Friends
Rhames Avenue School
Shelter Rock Public Library
Shirley Feed and Garden Center
West Babylon Public Library
West Elementary School
West Islip Public Library